i3/i3status
10 years agoupdate changelog 2.5.1
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 11 May 2012 20:38:10 +0000 (22:38 +0200)]
update changelog

10 years agoError handling: Never output null as full_text (JSON), prefix messages with i3status...
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 9 May 2012 16:56:57 +0000 (18:56 +0200)]
Error handling: Never output null as full_text (JSON), prefix messages with i3status (Thanks Artemis)

The former made i3bar crash, the latter is helpful for debugging.

10 years agoRemove cpu_temperature from the default config
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 9 May 2012 16:39:59 +0000 (18:39 +0200)]
Remove cpu_temperature from the default config

It contradicts our philosophy and doesn’t work on many systems, so don’t use it
in the default config.

10 years agoImprove error message when the cpu temperature cannot be read
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 9 May 2012 16:39:41 +0000 (18:39 +0200)]
Improve error message when the cpu temperature cannot be read

10 years agoUse (void) instead of () for functions without args (Thanks fernandotcl)
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 7 May 2012 06:27:28 +0000 (08:27 +0200)]
Use (void) instead of () for functions without args (Thanks fernandotcl)

See also:
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1268792

The C compiler will handle (void) as "no arguments" and () as "variadic
function" (equivalent to (...)) which might lead to subtle errors.

10 years ago- Remove some superfluous #ifdef clutter - If we're compiling on !(Linux or FreeBSD...
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Fri, 4 May 2012 07:36:38 +0000 (09:36 +0200)]
- Remove some superfluous #ifdef clutter - If we're compiling on !(Linux or FreeBSD), just emit a '?'.

10 years agoUpdate wrt. recent OpenBSD changes.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Fri, 4 May 2012 07:28:32 +0000 (09:28 +0200)]
Update wrt. recent OpenBSD changes.

10 years agoadd CHANGELOG to release tarball
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 4 May 2012 14:05:42 +0000 (16:05 +0200)]
add CHANGELOG to release tarball

10 years agomakefile: include yajl-fallback in release tarballs
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 4 May 2012 10:31:28 +0000 (12:31 +0200)]
makefile: include yajl-fallback in release tarballs

10 years agoHandle %d with non-default CPU temperature path.
Ewgenij Starostin [Fri, 4 May 2012 03:34:13 +0000 (05:34 +0200)]
Handle %d with non-default CPU temperature path.

10 years agoFix harmless format string mistake (Thanks loblik) 2.5
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:42:51 +0000 (17:42 +0200)]
Fix harmless format string mistake (Thanks loblik)

10 years agoadd CHANGELOG file
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:40:55 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
add CHANGELOG file

10 years agobump copyright
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:29:28 +0000 (17:29 +0200)]
bump copyright

10 years agobump version number
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:28:47 +0000 (17:28 +0200)]
bump version number

10 years agoclean (generated) i3status.1 in distclean target
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:27:20 +0000 (17:27 +0200)]
clean (generated) i3status.1 in distclean target

10 years agomanpage: spelling / sentence fixes
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:26:08 +0000 (17:26 +0200)]
manpage: spelling / sentence fixes

10 years agomanpage: remove paragraph about version 2, that’s outdated by now
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 2 May 2012 15:15:15 +0000 (17:15 +0200)]
manpage: remove paragraph about version 2, that’s outdated by now

10 years agobugfix: don’t use TOPDIR (Thanks loblik)
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 30 Apr 2012 11:51:18 +0000 (13:51 +0200)]
bugfix: don’t use TOPDIR (Thanks loblik)

10 years agodocument the i3bar output format in the manpage
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 30 Apr 2012 11:10:13 +0000 (13:10 +0200)]
document the i3bar output format in the manpage

10 years agoImplement displaying battery status on OpenBSD.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Sun, 29 Apr 2012 18:19:59 +0000 (20:19 +0200)]
Implement displaying battery status on OpenBSD.

10 years agoImplement basic fetching of cpu temperature on OpenBSD.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Sun, 29 Apr 2012 14:59:39 +0000 (16:59 +0200)]
Implement basic fetching of cpu temperature on OpenBSD.

10 years agoAllow overriding of a2x in the environment; as it may also be installed as a2x.py
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Sat, 28 Apr 2012 16:46:24 +0000 (18:46 +0200)]
Allow overriding of a2x in the environment; as it may also be installed as a2x.py

10 years agoPrint the volume on OpenBSD too. Add missing library to Makefile accordingly.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 17:09:16 +0000 (19:09 +0200)]
Print the volume on OpenBSD too. Add missing library to Makefile accordingly.

10 years agoFix disk usage on OpenBSD.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 16:48:22 +0000 (18:48 +0200)]
Fix disk usage on OpenBSD.

10 years agoFix CPU usage on OpenBSD. Currently only takes the first cpu into account, but works...
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 15:32:46 +0000 (17:32 +0200)]
Fix CPU usage on OpenBSD. Currently only takes the first cpu into account, but works fine otherwise.

10 years agoFix include order; fixes build on OpenBSD.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 17:50:17 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
Fix include order; fixes build on OpenBSD.

10 years agoAdd some extra paths if we're compiling on OpenBSD.
Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 17:49:48 +0000 (19:49 +0200)]
Add some extra paths if we're compiling on OpenBSD.

10 years agoAdded %emptytime to the battery part
Thorsten Töpper [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 19:51:15 +0000 (21:51 +0200)]
Added %emptytime to the battery part

10 years agoadd yajl compat code
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 12:05:47 +0000 (14:05 +0200)]
add yajl compat code

10 years agodebian: recommend libcap2-bin only on linux, recommend/enhance i3-wm (i3bar)
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 20:12:30 +0000 (22:12 +0200)]
debian: recommend libcap2-bin only on linux, recommend/enhance i3-wm (i3bar)

10 years agouse printf instead of write to not mix two ways of outputting data
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 20:07:43 +0000 (22:07 +0200)]
use printf instead of write to not mix two ways of outputting data

Otherwise, the separator is not properly interleaved with output.

10 years agoProperly output JSON with libyajl
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 18:55:55 +0000 (20:55 +0200)]
Properly output JSON with libyajl

10 years agoadd "exit 1" to example shell script.
Stefan Breunig [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 12:02:29 +0000 (13:02 +0100)]
add "exit 1" to example shell script.

This will make the script exit if i3bar has been killed or has crashed
instead of continuing to run in the background.

10 years agoFix indentation in i3status.conf
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 14:37:01 +0000 (15:37 +0100)]
Fix indentation in i3status.conf

10 years agoFix configuration paths in error message
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 13:47:58 +0000 (14:47 +0100)]
Fix configuration paths in error message

10 years agoadd a section to the manpage explaining why we don’t want RAM usage etc.
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 24 Feb 2012 16:31:08 +0000 (17:31 +0100)]
add a section to the manpage explaining why we don’t want RAM usage etc.

10 years agoImplement the i3bar JSON protocol
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 23:29:29 +0000 (23:29 +0000)]
Implement the i3bar JSON protocol

This hardcodes all the JSON parts. Strings are not properly escaped currently.
The best/easiest way to fix this is by actually using libyajl.

10 years agouse the actual default format string for run_watch
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 2 Jan 2012 13:29:00 +0000 (14:29 +0100)]
use the actual default format string for run_watch

10 years agoAdd a "format" example for run_watch
theo [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 22:25:16 +0000 (23:25 +0100)]
Add a "format" example for run_watch

Signed-off-by: theo <theocrite@theocrite.org>
10 years agobump version in i3status.man
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 23:31:50 +0000 (00:31 +0100)]
bump version in i3status.man

10 years agobump version 2.4
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 23:25:12 +0000 (00:25 +0100)]
bump version

10 years agoupdate debian/changelog
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 23:20:55 +0000 (00:20 +0100)]
update debian/changelog

10 years agoFreeBSD: fix disk usage print
Baptiste Daroussin [Fri, 9 Dec 2011 23:31:48 +0000 (00:31 +0100)]
FreeBSD: fix disk usage print

10 years agoFreeBSD: switch from acpi to coretemp to get the cpu temperature
Baptiste Daroussin [Fri, 9 Dec 2011 23:30:22 +0000 (00:30 +0100)]
FreeBSD: switch from acpi to coretemp to get the cpu temperature

11 years agoman/i3status.man: Fix indention (Thanks sur5r)
Michael Stapelberg [Sat, 26 Nov 2011 18:50:44 +0000 (18:50 +0000)]
man/i3status.man: Fix indention (Thanks sur5r)

11 years agobattery: implement "path" option for batteries with non-standard paths
Michael Stapelberg [Sat, 26 Nov 2011 18:26:38 +0000 (18:26 +0000)]
battery: implement "path" option for batteries with non-standard paths

11 years agomanpage: remove the obsolete i3bar -d invocation
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 30 Oct 2011 13:28:36 +0000 (13:28 +0000)]
manpage: remove the obsolete i3bar -d invocation

11 years agomake libconfuse handle config files case insensitive
Michael Stapelberg [Tue, 18 Oct 2011 21:40:14 +0000 (22:40 +0100)]
make libconfuse handle config files case insensitive

11 years agoDon’t use a default setting for 'order'
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 10 Oct 2011 19:29:44 +0000 (20:29 +0100)]
Don’t use a default setting for 'order'

This will make i3status depend on a useful configuration file (so
/etc/i3status.conf has to be installed) to actually output anything.

However, it fixes a very common error: people edit their i3status.conf and
don’t get that the first order directive has to use =, not +=. Since order is
now empty by default, you can use += everywhere.

11 years agoFix the default value for the load, also the manpage description (Thanks XTaran)
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 3 Oct 2011 17:33:36 +0000 (18:33 +0100)]
Fix the default value for the load, also the manpage description (Thanks XTaran)

11 years agodoc fix: the load supports %1min, not %10min in the format (Thanks zendeavor)
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 13:08:45 +0000 (15:08 +0200)]
doc fix: the load supports %1min, not %10min in the format (Thanks zendeavor)

11 years agoMakefile: fix PREFIX usage
Connor Lane Smith [Wed, 31 Aug 2011 22:56:45 +0000 (23:56 +0100)]
Makefile: fix PREFIX usage

11 years agofix parentheses in cc1457c4f0f4cccb8bec326dd0bb13082ac806e6
Mateusz Poszwa [Mon, 29 Aug 2011 13:28:01 +0000 (15:28 +0200)]
fix parentheses in cc1457c4f0f4cccb8bec326dd0bb13082ac806e6

11 years agoMakefile: actually use PREFIX (Thanks cls)
Michael Stapelberg [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 13:24:03 +0000 (15:24 +0200)]
Makefile: actually use PREFIX (Thanks cls)

11 years agoinitialize variables to fix compiler warning
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 22:33:56 +0000 (00:33 +0200)]
initialize variables to fix compiler warning

11 years agomake modules more resilient to failure
Connor Lane Smith [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 21:24:06 +0000 (22:24 +0100)]
make modules more resilient to failure

11 years agos/while [ 1 ]/while :/ (Thanks cls)
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 20:55:01 +0000 (22:55 +0200)]
s/while [ 1 ]/while :/ (Thanks cls)

11 years agomanpage: add example for using external scripts/programs with i3status
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 20:52:50 +0000 (22:52 +0200)]
manpage: add example for using external scripts/programs with i3status

11 years agodebian/i3status.postinst: Check if setcap is there, print info message if not (Thanks...
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 29 Jul 2011 12:05:31 +0000 (14:05 +0200)]
debian/i3status.postinst: Check if setcap is there, print info message if not (Thanks Sander)

11 years agoonly compile print_cpu_temperature if THERMAL_ZONE is available
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 24 Jul 2011 21:17:34 +0000 (23:17 +0200)]
only compile print_cpu_temperature if THERMAL_ZONE is available

Fixes FTBFS on hurd-i386

11 years agoAdd simple volume support on FreeBSD
Baptiste Daroussin [Sun, 24 Jul 2011 02:03:59 +0000 (02:03 +0000)]
Add simple volume support on FreeBSD

11 years agoAdd support for cpu usage on FreeBSD
Baptiste Daroussin [Sun, 24 Jul 2011 01:36:33 +0000 (01:36 +0000)]
Add support for cpu usage on FreeBSD

11 years agoSupport wifi on FreeBSD
Baptiste Daroussin [Sun, 24 Jul 2011 00:57:41 +0000 (00:57 +0000)]
Support wifi on FreeBSD

11 years agoclose appropriate bug in changelog
Michael Stapelberg [Sat, 23 Jul 2011 16:29:03 +0000 (18:29 +0200)]
close appropriate bug in changelog

11 years agoFix missing build-dependency on kfreebsd
Axel Beckert [Thu, 21 Jul 2011 23:46:15 +0000 (01:46 +0200)]
Fix missing build-dependency on kfreebsd

11 years agobump copyright 2.3
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 21 Jul 2011 21:11:13 +0000 (23:11 +0200)]
bump copyright

11 years agoBugfix: Use gettimeofday instead of time. It provides higher precision.
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 21 Jul 2011 20:46:35 +0000 (22:46 +0200)]
Bugfix: Use gettimeofday instead of time. It provides higher precision.

Otherwise, we sometimes have a wrong date/time.

11 years agoFix FTBFS on kFreeBSD
Axel Beckert [Thu, 21 Jul 2011 19:52:04 +0000 (21:52 +0200)]
Fix FTBFS on kFreeBSD

11 years agodebian: update changelog
Michael Stapelberg [Tue, 19 Jul 2011 13:35:34 +0000 (15:35 +0200)]
debian: update changelog

11 years agodebian: update copyright
Michael Stapelberg [Tue, 19 Jul 2011 13:31:58 +0000 (15:31 +0200)]
debian: update copyright

11 years agoupdate manpage, bump version, update copyrights, sync authors list
Michael Stapelberg [Tue, 19 Jul 2011 13:28:28 +0000 (15:28 +0200)]
update manpage, bump version, update copyrights, sync authors list

11 years agodebian: use [linux-any] instead of hardcoded architectures list
Michael Stapelberg [Tue, 19 Jul 2011 13:21:30 +0000 (15:21 +0200)]
debian: use [linux-any] instead of hardcoded architectures list

11 years agoslurp(): null-terminate buffer (Thanks mist)
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 17:17:24 +0000 (19:17 +0200)]
slurp(): null-terminate buffer (Thanks mist)

11 years agocorrectly auto-detect the output format with zsh (Thanks mist)
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 15:21:35 +0000 (17:21 +0200)]
correctly auto-detect the output format with zsh (Thanks mist)

11 years agodebian: update packaging, add changelog entries
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 14:37:43 +0000 (16:37 +0200)]
debian: update packaging, add changelog entries

11 years agomanpage: fix config paths
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 14:21:15 +0000 (16:21 +0200)]
manpage: fix config paths

11 years agomakefile: respect and use LIBS/CPPFLAGS, use $(MAKE), fix i3status.c target (Thanks...
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 14:18:09 +0000 (16:18 +0200)]
makefile: respect and use LIBS/CPPFLAGS, use $(MAKE), fix i3status.c target (Thanks Kacper)

11 years agofix memory leak
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 14:09:30 +0000 (16:09 +0200)]
fix memory leak

11 years agomagic: try to auto-detect output_format by default (dzen2/i3bar/xmobar)
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 01:27:57 +0000 (03:27 +0200)]
magic: try to auto-detect output_format by default (dzen2/i3bar/xmobar)

11 years agoi3status.conf: fix indention
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 13 Jul 2011 01:22:07 +0000 (03:22 +0200)]
i3status.conf: fix indention

11 years agoBugfix: call setlocale() to make %c work in the date format (Thanks loz)
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 30 Jun 2011 17:55:04 +0000 (19:55 +0200)]
Bugfix: call setlocale() to make %c work in the date format (Thanks loz)

11 years agomanpage: give a better example of the color_good option (Thanks Kamila)
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 8 May 2011 18:43:35 +0000 (20:43 +0200)]
manpage: give a better example of the color_good option (Thanks Kamila)

11 years agoFix trailing whitespaces, document cpu_usage in manpage
Michael Stapelberg [Fri, 6 May 2011 11:17:26 +0000 (13:17 +0200)]
Fix trailing whitespaces, document cpu_usage in manpage

11 years agoAdd print_cpu_usage
Peter Bui [Sat, 26 Feb 2011 22:45:12 +0000 (17:45 -0500)]
Add print_cpu_usage

11 years agoAlso use the correct time for the ddate module
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:10:40 +0000 (01:10 +0200)]
Also use the correct time for the ddate module

11 years agoBugfix: use localtime_r so that later calls in print_battery_info don’t overwrite...
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 23:06:53 +0000 (01:06 +0200)]
Bugfix: use localtime_r so that later calls in print_battery_info don’t overwrite the time

11 years agoget time at the beginning of the loop
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 18:49:22 +0000 (20:49 +0200)]
get time at the beginning of the loop

11 years agodocument the path option in sample config
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 17:23:56 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
document the path option in sample config

11 years agoimplement the 'path' option for cpu temperature
Michael Stapelberg [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 17:22:46 +0000 (18:22 +0100)]
implement the 'path' option for cpu temperature

11 years agomanpage: fix sample config (ethernet module)
Felix Kaiser [Wed, 5 Jan 2011 23:09:03 +0000 (00:09 +0100)]
manpage: fix sample config (ethernet module)

11 years agoCache the result of the DNS query also if there is no IPv6 connectivity (Thanks dothe...
Michael Stapelberg [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 14:00:42 +0000 (15:00 +0100)]
Cache the result of the DNS query also if there is no IPv6 connectivity (Thanks dothebart)

12 years agoUse kill(pid, 0) to check if the process is alive
Michael Stapelberg [Sun, 28 Nov 2010 15:45:34 +0000 (16:45 +0100)]
Use kill(pid, 0) to check if the process is alive

12 years agobattery: use POWER_NOW if CURRENT_NOW is not available
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 3 Nov 2010 13:07:47 +0000 (14:07 +0100)]
battery: use POWER_NOW if CURRENT_NOW is not available

CURRENT_NOW was deprecated for some battery types in recent linux kernels
(2.6.36)

12 years agoMore sensible lookup order loading the config.
Fernando Tarlá Cardoso Lemos [Sat, 23 Oct 2010 19:43:32 +0000 (17:43 -0200)]
More sensible lookup order loading the config.

12 years agomanpage: fix example for xmobar/dzen2 2.2
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:50:52 +0000 (00:50 +0200)]
manpage: fix example for xmobar/dzen2

12 years agobump version in asciidoc.conf
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:41:10 +0000 (00:41 +0200)]
bump version in asciidoc.conf

12 years agodebian: bump version, wrap changelog
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:36:58 +0000 (00:36 +0200)]
debian: bump version, wrap changelog

12 years agodebian: add source/format file
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:20:41 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
debian: add source/format file

12 years agoinitialize result to NULL to shun compiler warning
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:20:16 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
initialize result to NULL to shun compiler warning

12 years agomakefile: also copy include/ in make release
Michael Stapelberg [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 22:19:59 +0000 (00:19 +0200)]
makefile: also copy include/ in make release